Our Daily Routine With A Two Year Old


I got a request for an updated daily routine now that James is a toddler. The last time I did one of these, James was only 4 months old!! (Read our 4 month old daily routine HERE) Needless to say, A LOT has changed since then!

This is going to just be a generalized schedule/glimpse at what a typical (good) day looks like. Obviously, every day is a little different - I mean, what is motherhood if not a great test of flexibility and "go-with-the-flow-ness" haha. Right??

For reference, James will be two years old in about 2 1/2 weeks.

But, generally speaking, I have a pretty strict stance on meal times, nap time, and bed time. Everything else in our day revolves around those things - ESPECIALLY nap time and bed time. When James gets enough sleep, he is a completely different child: happier and calmer. This therefore makes ME a happier and calmer mama. So, naps and bedtime are EVERYTHING.

Ok, here we go:

Between 5:00-6:00am - James wakes up. Yes, he is a very early riser. But, he also goes to bed between 6:30-7:00pm every night, so it is well worth it to me to have that extra time in the evenings with Ben and to be able to decompress from the day. So, anyways, we get up early. If James wakes up before 6am, we bring him into our bed and let him watch a show while we try to catch a bit more sleep. At 6am, Ben gets up to get ready for work and James and I head downstairs to make breakfast.

Around 6:30am - Ben, James, and I eat breakfast together. Ben heads to work and James plays with his toys while I clean up.

Around 7:00am - We either head upstairs to play in the playroom, or we head outside. In the playroom, I sit on the couch with my coffee and read my daily devotional while James plays with his trains and trucks and planes. Then we'll read books together and I'll play with him. Outside, James plays with his water table, trucks in the rocks, slide, and big legos while I sit and drink my coffee. Then we'll often pick weeds together - James is very into weeding right now! :)

Around 8:00am - I let James watch a show on the iPad while I get dressed and do my makeup. Then I get him dressed. We turn off his show and he brushes his teeth.

8:30ish-11:00am - We head downstairs and get James (and me) a snack. If I need to run errands, we usually head out around 9am. Otherwise, we often times will sweep and/or vacuum together, play outside some more, read some more, etc... until nap time.

11:00am-anywhere between 12:30 and 1:30pm - James naps, and I eat a snack and try to get stuff done! I will do chores, work on blog posts/articles, respond to e-mails, garden...but more often than not, I end up lying on the couch watching YouTube videos. haha I am always just SO exhausted by this point in the day! I can never nap though...I'm just not a napper, unfortunately! I wish I were!

Anywhere from 12:30 and 1:30pm - Whenever James wakes up from his nap, we'll snuggle for a bit and then we'll have lunch.

Anywhere between 1:00-2:00pm - James finishes his lunch and then we play some more! Either outside or in the playroom. I'll often do laundry and more cleaning at this point while he plays.

Anywhere between 2:00-4:00pm - We do craft time and/or baking and educational games. Then we go on a walk and get the mail. James loves getting in his stroller and I'm able to get around 3 miles in, pushing him. Sometimes we'll end up at the park by our house for him to play, or in some of the open lots/land around our house where he plays with rocks and sticks and flowers. He could seriously do that ALL day. :)

Anywhere between 4:00-5:00pm - We head home and either play in the yard a bit more, depending on what time it is, OR if it is 5:00pm already by the time we get home, I'll go ahead and turn a show on for James while I cook dinner.

5:30pm - Dinner time! Ben is often home in time to eat dinner with us, which is SO nice!

6:00pm - We usually have a dance party in the kitchen and run around and/or read books.

6:30pm - Bath time!

Anywhere from 6:45-7:00pm - Jammies and in bed. James is asleep by at the very latest 7pm.

7:00-10:00pm - I clean, work on blog posts, etc... shower, and spend quality time with Ben.

10:00-11:00pm - Ben and I usually go to bed around 10pm. We read for about a half hour to an hour and then go to sleep.

That's what a typical day looks like for us! Obviously we have to change things around a bit. James has music class one day a week, and playdates with friends, and story time at the library, etc... But, generally speaking, that is what our days look like.

I know AAAALLLL of this is probably going to change drastically once the new baby arrives! So, I'll definitely update you all on our NEW routine once we get into a groove with the new little guy!

Screen Shot 2016-11-13 at 2.16.27 PM.png